Contact: Dr. Margaret E. Haun, Lead Teacher

305-365-6278

margarethaun@dadeschools.net

MAST Students Receive National Recognition

The Advanced Placement (AP) Program of the College Board has named fifty-six (56) MAST Academy students *AP Scholars*, *AP Scholars with Distinction*, *AP Scholars with Honor* or *AP National Scholars* for their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement Program (AP) Exams.

Thirty students (30) qualified for the *AP Scholar Award* by completing three or more AP Exams, with grades of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are **Evelyn Aguilar**, **Dannia Alfonso**, **Joaquin Alvarez**, **Melody Charles**, **Stephanie Coronado**, **Stefania Dimauro-Nava**, **Marianna Dimauro-Nava**, **Pedro Espina**, **Gabriel Franca**, **Daniel Garcia**, **Monica Gonzalez**, **Thomas Green**, **Johanna Interian**, **Erin Jester**, **Visvaldis Krumins**, **Marcos Lanio**, **Kellye Lopez**, **Jenny Millet**, **Simone Nibbs**, **Andre Ortega**, **Valeria Picado**, **Alexandra Primiani**, **Arturo Ricondo**, **Alexander Rivarola-Borrot**, **Jonathan Roth**, **Mariella Saavedra**, **Carlos Sanchez**, **Gaurav Sen**, **Erika Tyburski**, and **Erica Wenguer**.

Five (5) students qualified for the *AP Scholar with Honor Award* by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are **Willie Avendano**, **Cossette Joy**, **John McGraw**, **Lauren Peterson**, and **Stephanie Villagra**.

Twenty one (21) students qualified for the *AP Scholar with Distinction Award* by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are **Scarlett Barker**, **Kevin Bernfeld**, **Danica Carew**, **Crystal Diaz de Villegas**, **Daniel Giovinazzo**, **Christopher Hendrix**, **Aarthi Kalaichezhian**, **Ian Kent**, **Amanda Labora**, **Brandon Leibowitz**, **Jessica Lichter**, **Christopher Montero**, **Nicholas Morales**, **Leah Nation**, **Alan Reyes**, **Alexander Salinas**, **Gregory Solano**, **Catherine Suarez**, **Jeremias Szust**, **Guillermo Tinoco**, and **Thomas Utset-Ward**.

Four students (4) qualified for the *National AP Scholar Award* by earning an average grade of 4 or higher on a 5-point scale on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. These students are **Danica Carew**, **Leah Nation**, **Alexander Salinas**, and **Catherine Suarez**.

MAST seniors **Scarlett Barker**, **Guarav Sen**, and **Stephanie Villagra** have been named **Semifinalists** in the 2008 National Merit Scholarship Competition. **Simone Nibbs** is a **Semifinalist** in the 2008 Achievement Scholarship Competition. **Chinelo Okany** has been recognized as a **Commended Student** by the National Achievement Scholarship Program. Recognized as **Commended Students** in the 2008 National Merit Scholarship Program are **Gabriel Franca**, **Daniel Giovanzzo**, **Christopher Hendrix**, **Amanda Labora**, **Marcella May**, **Simone Nibbs**, and **Alan Reyes**.

MAST sophomore **Patrick Canary** will attend the *National Young Leaders Conference* (NYLC) in Washington, DC, from October 16th -21st. The NYLC is designed to instruct and enrich promising students in a hands-on, experiential atmosphere while preparing them for a lifetime of leadership. Conference participants will discuss current events and issues with top policy makers in Washington, D.C., analyze concepts, and then put them immediately to work.