## **MAST Academy Achievers Making Waves**

Led by MAST Academy science teacher **Mark Tohulka**, *National Ocean Science Bowl* (NOSB) team members **John Kelley, Vanessa Palacio, Rachel Peterson, Jordan Preve, and Kyle Schmitt** won *FIRST PLACE* at the Regional NOSB competition on February 12, 2005. The team will represent Eastern Florida at the *NOSB* finals in Biloxi, Mississippi, April 22-25, 2005, competing against 24 other regional NOSB winning teams for the national title.

Taking 3rd place was MAST Academy, NOSB Team II: Nath Ngamsiri, Osvaldo Meireles, Daniel Sanchez, Lauren Peterson, and Kimberly Farmer. Team coach was Ellen Peterson.

The National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSP) has awarded <u>Finalist</u> status to MAST academy seniors **Alexandra Marraccini**, **Rachel Peterson**, and **Jordan Preve**. These students will now enter the 2005 NMSP competition to determine the Merit Scholarship winners. Merit Scholar designees will receive scholarship offers from April to July.

The National Achievement Scholarship Program has named seniors **Secretse Sinclair** and **Andrew Strozier** 2005 Semifinalists. Only about 1,600 students nationwide attain this distinction.

Eight students earned **SUPERIOR** ratings and four earned the rating of **EXCELLENT** at the 51st Annual South Florida Science and Engineering Fair on Saturday, February 12, 2005. Superior awards went to David Amor, Elizabeth Arellano, Benjamin Velez, Jeremy Fowers, Christopher Chow, Mauricio Lanio, Paul Moore, and Rachel Peterson. Excellent awards went to Brandon Leibowitz, Alex Robel, Pamela Kolonias, and Dana Kamilar. David Amor took 2<sup>nd</sup> Place in the *Grand Award* category and won the prize for the Best Physical Science Paper. **David Amor** also won the *Mackey Web Design Award, Miami Museum of Sceince award* in Physics, the Mu Alpha Theta award, the National Society of Professional Engineers award, and the US Air Force award. Bridge awards went to **Joaquin Alvarez** and **Otoniel Tabares**. **Jeremy Fowers** received awards from the Gold Coast Railroad/Museum of Science, the Sierra Club, Solar Appropriate Technologies, and the Yale Science and Engineering Association. Christopher Chow and Mauricio Lanio won awards from Fischer Scientific, Gold Coast Railroad/Museum of Science, the US Army, and the Yale Science and Engineering Association. Alex Robel won the FIRST PLACE prize from the American Meteorological Association and a Superior rating in the Comprehensive Research Paper category. Brandon Leibowitz Alex **Robel**, and **Paul Moore** also received awards from the *US Army*. **Pamela Kolonias** won the award from the Society for In Vitro Biology and an Excellent rating in the Comprehensive Research Paper category. Rachel Peterson won an award from both the Gold Coast Railroad/Museum of Science and the ASM International Foundation and she also received an Excellent rating in the Comprehensive Research Paper category.

###

Contact: Dr. Margaret Haun, Lead Teacher 305-365-6278

margarethaun@dadeschools.net